DAY #82-#89

A week has gone by since I last posted on The Adventures of the i-LIMB – so much has been going on.  Still enjoying wearing the i-LIMB each day – some days I wear it more than other days but it is absolutely helping in many things.

I have been sending a lot of my videos to Touch Bionics for an upcoming conference that they have going on and I am pretty excited about the future of being connected to Touch Bionics.  They have done an incredible job with the i-LIMB and I am thankful for the technology that they have put into this prosthetic.  

Here is a picture I took breaking bread (literally) with my good friend Scott Graham.  

IMG_0822

I plan on taking a few more pictures over the next few days as we draw closer to the 100 day mark with the i-LIMB.  What a journey this has been.  I thought I would put up some of the less viewed videos of these adventures that are still noteworthy of checking out.  Leave me some comments on what you think I should do with this blog after the 100 days of journaling the journey are over.  Thanks much – enjoy!

Here is the story of how the i-LIMB came into my life…..

I also wanted to re-post a letter I received a few months back from a friend I grew up with who is now a teacher of a 4th grade class.  This was really awesome.

Hey Darin,

It’s Tammy from Salinas. Just wanted to let you know that I showed my fourth grade class the photos from your ilimb adventures. I had thought that they’d be interested in my friend’s bionic arm. Wow! Talk about an understatement! The room was full of shouts of “Whoa!” and “Cool!” All the kids (especially the boys) were enthralled.

I shared some stories of my memories of all of us playing as kids– climbing all over that crazy, lop-sided  merry-go-round at the Schiveleys’– and how you never let having one arm slow you down. One boy, Bobby, was especially impressed. He asked if he could try going through the day with one arm. I told him it was fine and he tucked his arm inside his shirt.

I sort of forgot that he was doing that until I went out for yard duty and I heard a yell from the playground structure. There was Bobby at the top, arm still tucked inside his shirt. Later, I saw him cruising around the playground with 3 of my other “cool and tough” boys. Sure enough, each of them had an arm tucked inside their shirts. Bobby stuck with his experiment for the rest of the day– even through the lunch line.

Just for the record, Bobby is one of my many “at risk” kids. His parents were both addicts in Southern CA when he and his twin sister were born. His dad died 4 years ago and mom has been trying to get their lives together. He’s a bright little guy with a lot of potential, so him finding a hero is a great thing. Today, you were that hero.

Bobby is going to write about his adventures today and he and the rest of the class have TONS of questions about the ilimb. I’ll be passing those along to you for you to tackle in your SPARE time (Ha!). Their favorite ilimb pic is the one of you driving and the one where you’re choking Carson. I couldn’t get the videos to download in the classroom– I think it’s because youtube is blocked by the school site. Going to try to have my tech committee (lol…my husband, David) tackle that this weekend so that the kids can watch those.

Anyway, just thought I’d let you know that you and the ilimb are making a difference in the lives of some kids back in Salinas. And it sure made me look like the very cool teacher– having a friend with a bionic arm! Take care and God bless!

(I changed the name of the student)

Leave a comment

Filed under Darin, i-limb, ILIMB, The Journey

Leave a Reply

