DAY #30

A month into it and I am finding all kinds of things I can do better with the i-LIMB.  Some of the activities I have done most of my life are now easier to pull off with the i-LIMB on.  This truly has revolutionized my life.  I grew up in the country on a farm in Idaho.  As most kids do I spent lots of time riding my bike.  I quickly discovered (after a few spills) that my arm would tend to slip off the handlebar after I would go off a cliff or a jump of some kind.  I decided one day to fix that.  A friend of mines dad was a welder so I told him my idea.  We cut off the left hand side of my handlebars and welded another handlebar piece that made the left side higher.  At the top of the bar we welded a circle that I wrapped with foam and duct tape – you got to love duct tape – especially if you live on a farm!  I wish I still had the handlebars to show you what it looked like.  My left arm I put into the circle and was able to bunny hop, jump, half pipe – you name it – it changed my bike riding that summer.  I loved it.  The trouble was trying to get my arm out of the circle if I was getting ready to crash.  I walked away with many a scratches but it was worth it.

I thought I would give you an example of my bike riding.  Now I am confident I will get to the stage where I can once again jump, bunny hop and race on the BMX circuit with the i-LIMB (LOL) but it is going to take me some time.  Anyways – here it is – enjoy – A BEFORE AND AFTER SPECIAL RIGHT HERE ON THE ADVENTURES OF THE ILIMB!!!!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Darin, i-limb, ILIMB, The Journey

2 responses to “DAY #30

  1. Wolf

    Looks great!

    Now, I can ride my bike without problem also with a conventional boy powered arm as long as I stay in front of the house – but what gets me is that my arm starts to hurt after I ride for more than 15 to 20 minutes. On some realistically paved roads or unsealed bike paths, the prosthesis vibrates against the stump so much that my somewhat unpadded stump (I was *not* born that way so it’s tender there) causes me real problems.

    Now, the *problem* is that the really snug fit that allows me to control the prosthesis cannot be padded, and as soon as I pad my arm sufficiently I start to slip, or the pin does not lock as well.

    So I am looking forward to reading about the iLimb solution to this real problem (I have a colleague who has the exact same problem with a ‘cosmetic’ prosthesis).

    Thanks for the nice videos 🙂

  2. Haylee watched you ride a bike with your i limb and said,
    “Sweet!”

Leave a Reply

