Day #3

Yesterday was another red letter day in my life.  Another step closer to conquering the use of this amazing device called the i-LIMB.  I was able to grab a cup and fill it with soda at the soda fountain – Way cool!  Here is a snapshot of that.

img_0680

 

It has been interesting seeing how my children react to this new stage of my life.  I took my daughter to school yesterday and the kids freaked out that are in her class.  Later in the day I picked her up and went into her classroom.  It was crazy!  The kids gathered around touching my new bionic arm and asking all kinds of questions.  One of the kids asked me if my entire body was bionic!!  I cracked up.  Here is that picture of them.

img_0681

 

Averie, my youngest daughter is wanting me to bring it for show and tell!  She actually picked it up yesterday morning and was going to put it in her backpack to take with her.  LOL  I think I probably need to be attached to it before we can do that.  But she got her wish and was able to tell all her friends that her daddy is bionic.

Later that evening we had the privilege of spending some time with some friends up in Rancho Cucamonga.  This was fun getting out and into the public and seeing their responses.  We went into the Apple store and was asked not to film in there.  I personally think that they were frightened by the i-LIMB.  LOL

Here are some clips of the evening enjoy.  

 

This is when we were asked to quit filming.  They fear the bionic man!

The Sermonator!!

And finally – I was able to do this for the first time in my life!  Day #3 was the best!

 

Things I learned in Day #3

My kids are very excited for their daddy.

I can fill my cup up at the soda fountain and carry my food tray in the other hand.

People are still not real sure about it.

My friends are super supportive

I can open a car door – so cool!

It even communicates with satellites – just kidding

Life is a challenge and this is part of it and I am loving it!

16 Comments

Filed under ILIMB

16 responses to “Day #3

  1. I was deeply moved when I saw you take both girls by the hand and begin to walk with them. Absolutely beautiful!!! I am so vey happy for you.

  2. Judy Hogan

    What beautiful girls you have. That look on Averie’s face as she took your hand is priceless. Keep the journey coming.

  3. Tabitha

    Awesome job Bro. Sargent!! although i’ll never forget your high school story about scaring your teacher trying to get your key that your friend had swallowed!lol…your the best and an awesome preacher keep up the awesome job!

  4. Okay, where’s the Kleenex??? Day 3 take 3 should only be viewed with a full box of tissue. Ditto Sis. Hogan’s comment about Averie. Darin, thanks for sharing this journey with all of us. I am so happy and excited for you.

  5. Pastor,

    I still don’t know what to say other then COOL! WOW! Awesome! This is a blessing for you and for our church to get to see what God is doing in your life! I am excited for you and can’t wait to see more of your new Adventures! Love ya

    Stephen Radelicki

  6. Wow! Tears definitely flowed watching your little girl take your new hand. How incredible!

  7. Christy Brown

    SO cool! Liam is intrigued, while looking at the pics and watching the videos. We can hardly wait til Sunday! Congrats Pastor!

  8. awesome….just totally awesome!! and yes, sis. allard…bring on the kleenex!

  9. John and Nancy Lavin

    Bro. Darin Sargent,

    WOW!!!! What a journey…thanks for sharing this exciting time in your life with all of us! What an amazing event; can’t wait to see you at No Limits. Love you all

  10. duwop35

    Babe,

    I love this priceless piece of history. It is so simple yet so magical. I love Averie’s expression of pure exceptance and love for you. Priceless.

    I love you!!

    God is so wonderfully awesome in His love for us.

  11. The look on your little girl’s face was priceless. I am so happy for you and them. 🙂

  12. Marjorie Renison

    What a special moment with your daughter as she took your hand. A day she and you will never forget. Your Aunt Linda told me about your web site. It is awesome! Thanks for sharing your journey.

  13. Marjorie Renison

    What a special day for you and your daughter. A memory that will last a lifetime. Your “Aunt Linda” told me about your site. Thanks, for sharing your journey.

  14. Mom & Dad

    We Love you son with or without the i-limb. 39 and almost 40 years ago we started the journey together. It has been a wonderful journey. You have brought so much joy and laughter into our lives. We are excited about your i-limb journey. We are with you every step of the way. Long before Nike ever came up with the slogan our slogan was Just Do It! We knew you could do what ever you wanted to do. In the good times and in the tough times, God has been with you.We love you and believe in you. We thank God for
    Darin and the road we have walked together. Your precious wife and family are with you on this new journey and we are right behind all of you praying and cheering you on. We Believe you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you.

    Much Love,
    Mom and Dad

  15. Terry and Chandi Brady

    Brother Sargent;
    That is awesome! I am so happy for you. Could you please post some videos of you lifting cars, bending steel bars, and oh yeah, flipping man hole covers like Frisbees ! (Now that would be cool) Steve Austin did it, I am sure with a little practice you could have it down in no time. You may have to get the upgraded model, not sure.
    Seriously, this is great! We are soooo happy for you.

    Love you always.
    Bro & Sis Terry and Chandi Brady

Leave a Reply

